You are here:

Our Team

At Gretton we have a staff team of dedicated committed professionals who endeavour to ensure that every student at Gretton experiences success, achieves their goals and is happy.

Every staff member at Gretton has an important part to play in the team approach that we recognise as instrumental in ensuring a happy learning environment.

Senior Leadership Team

Mr Ian Thorsteinsson – Principal

Ian Thorsteinsson

Mr Thorsteinsson joined Gretton School in August 2018.  He has a long senior management history in specialist education, particularly in autism schools and services. He has even opened a school for autism in Saudi Arabia. He is passionate about delivering a strong, effective and well resourced provision, which is planned individually to ensure the best short-through to long-term outcomes.


Mrs Victoria Howe – Assistant Head of Primary

Victoria Howe

Mrs Howe started her career in education as a primary class teacher within mainstream schools in Hertfordshire. It was during these four years, that she developed a real passion for working with children with special educational needs. In 2013, she joined Gretton School as a primary teacher and in 2016 was promoted to Assistant Head of Primary. She is passionate about supporting children to reach their full potential.


Mrs Beth Elkins – Assistant Head of Secondary

Beth Elkins

Beth has worked in the field of SEN for 20 years, working first in Further Education and then later as a Manager for the Specialist Teaching Team in the Local Authority, advising Cambridgeshire schools on the development of their SEN approaches and provision.  She is a qualified SENDCo with experience of working across all ages, from Primary through to adult learners, and with a wide knowledge of pan-disability needs within educational settings.


Ms Clare Bailey – Head of Compliance

Clare Bailey


Ms Emma Nelson – Head of Care

To support our experienced team of leaders, teaching assistants, residential support workers and teachers we have a range of therapists as well as a behaviour support team and pastoral department. Our on-site therapy team includes Speech and Language Therapists, Occupational Therapists, Music, Drama and Art Therapists as well as an on-site Educational Psychologist.


Class Staff


Mr Stone


Mrs Hartshorne


Miss Katie Sprange



Ms Collier



Ms Shields


Mrs Harrison


Ms Waters / Ms Ison


Mrs Spencer


Ms Templeman


Mr O’Neill / Mr Lee


Ms Fyffe-McFadden


Ms Whiting



Ms Herf-Harbert


Ms Sellars


Mr Thomas


Ms Patrick



Mr Watkins


6th Form

Ms Human: Coordinator
Mr Parnell: Form Tutor


Governing Body

Mr Aatif Hassan – Chairman
Cavendish Education was founded in 2013 by Aatif Hassan. Himself dyslexic, Aatif’s aim was simple, “to give others the chance to succeed against the odds and in the face of obstacles.”
Mr S Coles – Group Managing Director
Simon supports the Chairman and leads the Executive Team. He is passionate about providing the highest possible outcomes for young people. Read more
Mr J Pickles – Finance Director
Jon Pickles
Jon supports Cavendish and its schools in all areas of financial management and planning.

Ms D Carr – Operations Director

Deb Carr

Deb supports Cavendish and its schools in all areas of Safeguarding, compliance, complaints, HR, H&S, policies and accreditation.
Read more

 Mr S Aiano – Operations Director
Stephen Aiano
Stephen supports the work of Cavendish in a number of areas including compliance, health and safety, INSET and planning. Read more
 Mrs G Doyle – Marketing & Admissions Director
Gemma Doyle
Gemma supports Cavendish Education and its schools in all areas of marketing, communications, PR and stakeholder management.

Ms J Narowlansky – Head of Specialist Education & Wellbeing


Jessica’s role in Cavendish is to facilitate the development of the wider mission of the group; that the unique learning profiles of our students are understood, and that mental health and wellbeing is supported throughout the whole of the Cavendish community. Read more


To contact Cavendish Education, please:

Telephone: +44 (0) 203 305 9095
Visit the website:

Cavendish Education Ltd
14 Waterloo Place

Request our prospectus.

Request the prospectus with one of the options below.

Apply for a place.

Apply for a place now clicking on the button below.

Have a question?


Forgot your password?